Windflower

Windflower

 I am 63, I bought the Windflower. It is a Koopmans design, a Dutch yacht designer. He designs yachts that are very seaworthy, safe and easy to handle for a short-handed crew. The boat is very strong, comfortable in a seaway and easy to handle. She steers herself with Windpilot or Autohelm in all kinds of weather. Rigging is new this winter, as are mainsail and two jibs and several sheets. I use paraffin for cooking and heating and can do most of the cooking on board. I have sleeping accomodation for one crew/person.

I have been sailing in high school in dinghies and have owned a wooden Folkboat and a Maurice Griffiths Kylix. I started sailing on sea some twenty years ago, often to Denmark and the English east coast, but also to the Orkneys and Norway. Last year I sailed to Brest and its festival. I usually sail the boat with a friend or my wife and sometimes singlehanded.

A leasurely and clockwise circumnavigation including the Shetlands. I want to do most of the sailing in daytrips. I would like to see as much flora and fauna as possible, coasts and countryside. I want to meet all kinds of interesting people on the way. I plan to leave Medemblik around mid April.

Which ports you are hoping to visit and when?
As many as possible in daytrip distances according to the scheme on the website.

Which part or parts of the trip do you need crew for?
I am looking for crew for the first part of the challenge, mid april to mid may. I already have crew from the middle of may onward

What experience / skills do you want?
Someone who has at least some experience in sailing and navigating on sea, who does not get seasick easily and non smoking.